How to find a battery drain?

RipGroove

Reaction score
I'm pretty sure ever since I fitted a Puig tail tidy, genuine Yamaha LED flashers and an eBay flasher relay something is is slowly draining my battery. If I don't use the bike for a week or two it really struggles to start if at all. Currently it's constantly plugged in to a battery tender but I need to get to the bottom of it.

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to electrics, I'm pretty sure I installed the tail tidy and indicators correctly though as they are pretty much plug and play. But when it comes to electric fault finding I'm useless.

Here's what my battery currently looks like with the key out of the ignition, do I even have the meter on the right setting? I think I have it set to DC 50v and that its reading about 11v?

Sent from my iPhone 

Last edited:

stumpy66

Reaction score
can you not unplug one item at a time, my first bet would be the relay, could be sticking?
:confused:

RipGroove

Reaction score
can you not unplug one item at a time, my first bet would be the relay, could be sticking?
:confused:
Yeah could be, not sure how to test it though TBH? Pretty sure I need to connect the multimeter in between the negative terminal on the battery and the bikes negative lead in order to measure the bikes drain but what setting should the multimeter be on?

Assuming I can set the multimeter correctly to read the drain, could I then just unplug the relay and see if the reading goes down to confirm if it is actually that? And if not then I'll unplug the indicators and see what happens.

RipGroove

Reaction score
Got my digital one out, battery measures 12.7v with the ignition off.

Not sure if I'm doing this next bit right but with the multimeter in series between the negative terminal on the battery and the bikes negative lead it reads 12.3v (does that mean my bike is constantly draining 12.3v?)