Battery?

Jambo90

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm very new to biking (only a few months in) my first bike is a 2013 MT-09 ABS. Unfortunately due unforeseen circumstances I have been unable to ride/start the bike for a good 3 weeks.
I went to start her around 4 days ago and it wouldn't start. Display screen was on and working as usual but when I went to start the bike it was just making what I can only describe as a loud purring noise (which is coming from under the seat). As the bike is alarmed I just put this down to it draining the battery over the period of time it hadn't been started.
In the mean time I have purchased an Oxford solar powered trickle charger to try and charge the battery up abit. It has only been connected approx 2 days, I went to start it earlier and still nothing.

Firstly am I right in assuming this issue is the battery and secondly am I doing the right thing in sticking it on the trickle charger and will it start in a few days?

Apologies if this is a silly post and questions but I am not very mechanical minded and am very new to the joys of biking.

Regards,
Jambo.

chump

Reaction score
Hi Jambo

Sounds like the battery. I would suggest a mains powered charger in the current climate, although the battery may have become so discharged it is knackered.

donut

Reaction score
Possibly the starter solenoid, check and clean and crud/corrosion

Dis-connect battery first though to be safe while cleaning.

stevecbr

Reaction score
As bloggsy said, try a decent charger, something like an optimate which checks it can hold a charge. Either that or try a jump start from another bike or bump starting it

Jambo90

Reaction score
As bloggsy said, try a decent charger, something like an optimate which checks it can hold a charge. Either that or try a jump start from another bike or bump starting it
Many thanks for your help guys, I'll try some of your suggestions and fingers crossed it will work

motorcycleboy

Reaction score