Road Trip

LewFZ1

Reaction score
Heading off on a road trip on Thursday. I am going over to N Ireland for a weekend meet with the Z1000SX forum. Why the Z1000SX crowd you may or may not ask. I used to have one of those fantastic bikes but sadly it was just getting to heavy for me and a lad in Spain where I used to live offered me silly money for it.
I have been doing these meets with the same crowd now for 5 years and we have fun.
I will be clocking up a few miles to get there and back.
Heading up from Marmande SW France to Cherbourg and catching the Cherbourg / Rosslare ferry. I would normally have caught Calais / Dover and met up with mates. I just do not want the hassle of dodging asylum seekers at Calais.
Anyway looking forward to my trip and hopefully some decent weather.
Will post a pic when I have the bike loaded and ready for the off, wish me luck.
Lew

MJ09

Reaction score
UK, Midlands between coventry and Birmingham
Well, good luck but don't be to put off Calais, I go though there once every couple of months and do not have any problems with the Migrants, the French police, dogs and a big barbed wire fence keep them away from the terminal. I read that many have now moved to the other channel ports where security is much less. Mind you, you must have a big top box if you are worried they might climb on board...:)

LewFZ1

Reaction score
Okay she is loaded up and ready for the off tomorrow morning, fingers crossed for good weather. The panniers are Shad, the silver bits are the water proof covers , hope they are not required, tank bag is a Givi tank lock thing, good gear but we will find out how good they all are.20160419_153656[1].jpg20160419_153728[1].jpg20160419_153634[1].jpg

LewFZ1

Reaction score
Back from my trip left last Thursday and back this Thursday bike was great miles covered 1,916. Not bad for an aging biker.

LewFZ1

Reaction score