ZX10 shock conversion

Fluke

Reaction score
Hi gang
I'm very happy to be able to report that I've finally got my standard shock changed for one from an 09 ZX10r.
(Ta to everyone who helped with the advice, especially L34chy and Marthy).
I've not really had much of a chance to ride it but the little that I've ridden since it was done has been really encouraging. It's noticeably firmer and feels a lot less spongey.
Thought I'd share some of the fitting experience in case anyone else is thinking of doing the same.
You will need a 12 mm bit to enlarge the hole that attaches at the back. (I'm not technical enough to know the name of that end of the shock but there probably is one). It's obvious which hole needs to be drilled.
The ZX10 shock is slightly longer so you'll need to move the hole a couple of mm otherwise you'll not get the shock to fit.
I saw images people had posted on google showing the hole being drilled so you can see what I mean if you look it up.
It's a bit of a tight squeeze getting the shock in at the engine end (excuse my lack of tech speak) so you'll need to take off the tank and loosen the tray below the seat to get the fat end of the shock in.
Orient it with the shock's (I think it's a) reservoir underneath to avoid cutting the plastic shroud over the swingarm.
Some people had said that you need to cut some of the plastic cover next to where the shock mounts but it is not necessary as you can see from the picture.
The enlarged hole at the back end of the shock should line up if you've moved it and that's it, job done.
I'm no racer so all I was looking for was a firmer rear without breaking the bank and as the shock only cost me £85, I'm chuffed to have been able to sort the MT's soggy arse without breaking the bank.
Next job... the front:)
MT shock.jpg

My Toy

Reaction score