Dealer changed tyres now brakes feel different/brake light doesn't come on...

Thunder Child

Reaction score
Long story short - local dealer changed tyres on my 09 after I got a flat.

I get the bike back and notice they've moved my brake lever setting. During the ride home I notice it feels like the lever is engaging further out than usual.
Have also noticed that I can stop from 60kph with normal braking levels without triggering the front brake switch. Which is obviously not correct.

Any thoughts? I'm no bike mechanic but everything looks undamaged. The calliper bolt heads looks like the pulled the callipers off to remove the wheel. Brakes don't feel spongy. Harder if anything.

Any thoughts?

flipper

Reaction score
I assume you mean front brake lever setting - change it back.

The brakes will feel different after the wheel has been out and back in; they always do. Pistons will be sitting in slightly different places to where they were. You cannot remove the wheel without taking the calipers off.

Does the brake light come on at all with the front brake?

Thunder Child

Reaction score
I assume you mean front brake lever setting - change it back.

The brakes will feel different after the wheel has been out and back in; they always do. Pistons will be sitting in slightly different places to where they were. You cannot remove the wheel without taking the calipers off.

Does the brake light come on at all with the front brake?
I don't mean lever setting. I've got FP racing levers and the adjuster on them doesn't move the actual pusher. Just the lever position.

Brake light comes on, but only after much more brake pressure than before. As I said in the OP I can stop from 60kph in a timely fashion without the brake light being turned on because I do t need to pull on the lever as much now.

misscrabstick

Reaction score