Engine Noise at Low Revs

Dug

Reaction score
Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm new to to this forum but have just got up to speed on the Tracer threads by skim reading a fair few posts. I've only had a new old stock 2015 Tracer a few weeks but have already done 1500km over mostly 'sporty' (max from 6,000 to <10,000 rpm) country riding in the Hunter Valley NSW and a little bit of two up with the missus/financial controller who approved the vehicle purchase. What a great machine over so far.

When cruising slowly into and through a town after fast open riding I noticed a chain rubbing type noise on the RH side of the motor at low revs. It went away completely at over 3000 or 4000 rpm, with no other issues at all.

Does this sound like the dreaded cam chain tensioner issue common on pre - 2014 Mt09's ?

A general comment and not to derail from the above, I have noticed a fair difference in fuel consumption between a conservative throttle use with STD mode and 'A/Advanced Injury" mode. Is about 250km from full a normal fuel range with sensible riding before hitting the low fuel alert?

Thanks, Dug

stumpy66

Reaction score
I noticed the rattle on mine today, just going to whip it up the dealers to check:confused:

Shaun64

Reaction score
I would say if the noise goes away between 3-4000 rpm your maybe in too high of a gear for your low speed,I've noticed in top gear below 4500 revs the engine wines,your bikes new so it will take you a while to get used to the bikes noises.regards mpg I think the tracer is excellent on fuel mine always show around 60 mpg but it's only just run in.

Dug

Reaction score
Definitely wouldn't describe it as a whine and the motor isn't laboring when the noise was around. To be more specific it sounded like the cam chain rubbing lightly on something and was loudest right about the CCT area. What has it sounded like to others who have had the issue?
Also not being overly loud it might still be present at speed but might not be audible.

Last edited: