Garage for bike - steel profile size for 6 meter span

relz

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm sick of my bike getting wet and dirty in the winter and cooked in the desert sun in the summer, while parked in my outdoor parking space. So I've decided it's time to put up some lightweight roofing over the parking space.
I'm going with a lightweight polycarbonate material, called Suntuf, which is produced and sold locally.

My parking space already has three walls, so all I'll be needing is to put steel rectangle tubes from side to side, on which the roofing will rest.
carpark.jpg

I've never worked with steel before, and I really don't know what size I should be using for this job. A 6 meter span, is pretty long. I want to choose the correct profile, so that on one hand it's strong enough to support it's own weight without sagging (the lightweight of the Suntuf is negligible), but on the other hand not over massive/heavy.

Do you have any experience with construction from metal?
What size would you recommend?

I'm currently considering the more massive 10cm x 5cm profile, or the smaller 6cm x 4cm (both aprox. 2mm thickness). But I'm really just guessing here....

Any help is much appreciated.

flipper

Reaction score
I'd have thought that whatever size you would want a support half way across.

relz

Reaction score
I'd have thought that whatever size you would want a support half way across.
I'm trying to avoid a centre support, to keep the space nice and open.
Obviously a centre support will enable much thinner steel.

emptyoh9

Reaction score
Have you ever heard of Unistrut? LItLibrary I use it a lot at work for various projects (not sure on cost) but you can get brackets and fittings for it. Not sure how well it would work at 6m.
Are you planning to have a front on this garage or are you just putting up a roof leaving the front open?