Help rain causing big problems!

Flight959

Reaction score
:confused:

Guys,

I am very new to the world of biking (3 Months) and if I am honest I'm not even slightly mechanically minded. Apart from the standard basic checks like oil chain tyres etc I generally get quite lost. My first bike is a 2013 MT 09 and I must say I love it. I use the bike to mainly commute to work which is an 86 miles round trip. I ride in all weather including the rain. Yesterday when I left work the rain was horrific. The rain was that bad. that within just a few miles the water had come through my protective clothing which normally doesn't get breached.

Within 6 miles in the rain I noticed an issue with the power. A twist of the throttle would give me limited power almost like the engine was missing a beat. It was most noticeable in 2nd gear to the point it felt like it was actually going to stop and stall. I found pulling the clutch in and revving the engine would temp clear the issue. A few times I had the throttle in the same position holding it around 5k to see if it cleared. An increased turn would make no difference until a few seconds later where the power matched the throttle almost causing the bike to take off! . At speed the issue didn't seem apparent. The bike never stalled. I put the bike away and it started fine this morning but wont be able to ride it until tomorrow where I am attending a bikesafe event.

Has water got into the throttle system, or anywhere else in the bike?

Thoughts or suggestions would be very much appreciated....

Bike is a 2013 MT09. Has Full Ackro system, no others mods except heated grips. currently has 10K and has been well looked after.

Great forum.

Regards

Simon

chump

Reaction score
I would expect that if there was a throttle problem you would have the MIL light on.

Sounds to me like a misfire, probably from water in a plug cap.

Flight959

Reaction score
Is it still under the shop warranty, if it is take it back:confused: